by clicking the arrows at the side of the page, or by using the toolbar.
by clicking anywhere on the page.
by dragging the page around when zoomed in.
by clicking anywhere on the page when zoomed in.
web sites or send emails by clicking on hyperlinks.
Email this page to a friend
Search this issue
Index - jump to page or section
Archive - view past issues
Bowls In Focus : December 2009
Bowls In Focus 27 Another Set Of Frequently Asked Questions Welcome to the sixth in our series of frequently asked questions. I hope that the following situa- tions and responses assist all players to further enjoy their participation. I am particularly pleased that many of you have pointed out an inaccuracy in the sixth question of the October 2009 FAQ's. It tells me that the laws are being read which is very gratifying. The question was: If a jack in course on a windy day appears to pass outside the boundary of the rink but comes to rest on the boundary line, is the jack live? And the correct answer should have been: Yes. The jack is live as it has not come to rest completely outside the boundaries of the rink. Law 23.1 dot 2 I trust you will all find the following situations infor- mative and interesting. Q: Who is the Controlling Body? A: The controlling Body is the body with immediate control over the Conditions of Play under which a game is played. Law 1.1 Q: In a competition in which there are two or more rounds on one day, a team has a bye in the first round. The team they are drawn to play has played in the first round. Can the team with the bye practice prior to the second round? A: Yes, providing: • The Controlling Body gives approval. • There is enough time available without delaying the competition. and... • Another rink is available apart from that on which the team has been drawn to play later that day.Law13.1dots1,2,&3 Q: At the completion of a round in a tournament the skip wishes the third and second to change play- ing positions. Is this permitted? A: Yes. Prior to the start of any subsequent game in the same competition the playing positions of the constituted personnel may be changes. Law DR. 4.1.18(ii) Q: May players change playing positions during a game such as Pennant? A: No. Each player having delivered a bowl the team shall become constituted and shall not be altered during a game in either personnel or playing positions except by the necessary introduction of an approved substitute. Law DR. 4.1.18(i) Q: A player deliberately measures the distance be- tween the jack and some bowls by placing a foot between the jack and the bowls before the skip delivers the bowl. The opponent objects to this. What would the umpire tell the players? A: No measuring will be allowed before the process of deciding the number of shots scored starts. Law 40.3 Q: Play is in progress in a singles match when the green is closed due to bad weather. The match is continued the following day and one player decides, because the speed of the green has slowed, to play with a different set of bowls. Is this permitted? A: Yes. If a game has been stopped because of weather conditions and is continued on another day, a player can use a different set of bowls to the set they used during the game that was stopped. Law 47.3.2 Q: In a singles game a spectator seated on the bank behind the head seems to be assisting one of the players by indicating which side of the rink the shot should be played. Is this permitted? A: No. Spectators should not advise the players in any way. Q: The first end in a singles game is tied. Player A claims that they play the first end again and that they should toss for who should play first. Player B disagrees and calls the umpire. Who is correct? A: Player B. If the first end is a tied end, the first to play in that end should also play first in the second end. Law 41.4 Carolyn McIntyre